Brewers Association

Russell Schehrer Award for Innovation in Craft Brewing

Russell Schehrer was a founding partner and the original head brewer at Denver's Wynkoop Brewing Company. He passed away in 1996 at the age of 38. While he will always be fondly remembered for his special charm and sense of humor that knew no boundaries, the Brewers Association continues to honor Russell for his contributions to the brewing industry. Besides helping establish the first brewpub in Colorado, he was the first (or one of the first) microbrewers to produce mead, doppel alt, cream stout and chili beer.


Call for nominations is announced on the Brewers Association Forum and begins approximately three months before the Craft Brewers Conference. The winner is determined by vote from a committee made up of members of the Brewers Association advisory board.


2014 - Mitch Steele, Stone Brewering Company
2013 - Peter Bouckaert, New Belgium Brewing Co.
2012 - James Ottolini, St. Louis Brewery, Inc.
2011 - Jennifer Talley, Squatters Pub Brewery/Salt Lake Brewing Co.
2010 - Ken Grossman, Sierra Nevada Brewing Company
2009 - Steve Parkes, American Brewers Guild
2008 - Vinnie Cilurzo, Russian River Brewing Company
2007 - Matt Brynildson, Firestone Walker Brewing Company
2006 - Dan Carey, New Glarus Brewing Company
2005 - Greg Noonan, Vermont Pub and Brewery
2004 - Dick Cantwell, Elysian Brewing Company
2003 - Phil Markowski, Southampton Publick House
2002 - John Mallett, Kalamazoo Brewing Co.
2001 - John Harris, Full Sail Brewing Co.
2000 - Mark Carpenter, Anchor Brewing Co.
1999 - Fal Allen, Pike Brewing; Anderson Valley Brewing Co.
1998 - Garrett Oliver, The Brooklyn Brewery
1997 - John Maier, Oregon Brewing Co./Rogue Ales