FDA Issues Final Rule on Gluten-Free Claims for Fermented Foods

Share Post

The federal Food & Drug Administration (FDA) recently finalized regulations governing gluten-free claims for fermented and hydrolyzed foods, including beer and other alcohol beverages. The so called “final rule” directly applies to alcohol beverages that fall within FDA’s primary labeling jurisdiction (notably including most hard seltzer and hard cider products), and will likely influence future decision making towards gluten-free claims by the Alcohol and Tobacco Tax and Trade Bureau (TTB). Affected companies must come into compliance with the new regulations on or before August 13, 2021.