Brewers Association Welcomes New Technical Subcommittee Members

Link to article collage of new technical subcommittee members
Share Post

The Brewers Association (BA) Technical staff and Committee recently completed its annual recruitment and onboarding process, inviting 17 new members to volunteer across the six technical subcommittees. We are happy to have the vibrant energy, diverse experiences, and varying perspectives of the new members, who are now contributing to both relevant discussions concerning the craft beer industry and the creation of new resources on the BA website, which can be found in the BA’s Resource Hub.

Please join us in welcoming all our new volunteers, who are listed below. Also, we would like to extend a big thank you to all the current subcommittee members who have already been sharing their insights and knowledge. We could not do our work without you.

If you have any interest in volunteering on a subcommittee, fill out the BA Committee Interest Form and check out the Committee pages for more information.

“We are excited to welcome the new members and are so grateful for everyone’s generosity in dedicating their time to the betterment of the craft beer community. I want to extend specific thanks to Kris Spaulding for her time as my co-chair of the Technical Committee. She is a pleasure to work with and luckily I get to continue working with her on the BA Board. Lastly, I am pleased to have Mitch Steele come aboard as the new Technical Committee co-chair. He brings many years of industry experience, having worked at breweries big and small.”

Jason Perkins, Technical Committee Co-Chair

Technical Committee and Subcommittee Updates

Technical Committee

  • Brian Faivre, Master Brewers Association of the Americas Liaison
  • New Co-Chair: Mitch Steele, New Realm Brewing Co.

Draught Beer Quality Subcommittee

  • Craig Thomas, Abstrax Hops
  • Paige Martin, Second Pitch Beer Co.

Maintenance and Engineering Subcommittee

  • Chilkoot Ward, Silver Gulch Brewing
  • Chris McCombs, Coopersmith’s Pub & Brewing
  • Dan Sweeney, Great Lakes Brewing Co.
  • Jere Anderson, Bent Water Brewing Co.

Quality Subcommittee

  • Joel Mahaffey, Foundation Brewing Co.
  • John Armstrong, Deep Ellum Brewing
  • Travis Swafford, Craft ‘Ohana

Safety Subcommittee

  • Caitlin Wilson, Creature Comforts Brewing Company
  • Cindy Byrd, Sierra Nevada Brewing Co.
  • Jake Hertz, Holidaily Brewing Co.

“This has been a great experience so far. I appreciate the organization of the group and the meetings are very beneficial for me.”

Jake Hertz, new Safety Subcommittee member

Supply Chain Subcommittee

  • Anthony Stone, Tampa Bay Brewing Co.
  • New Co-Chair: Jeremy Moynier, Stone Brewing Co.

Sustainability Subcommittee

  • Andrew Dagnan, Wicked Weed Brewing
  • Hannah Johnson, Allagash Brewing Co.
  • Travis Hixon, Half Acre Beer Co.

“Adding engaged and knowledgeable volunteers to our already impressive group helps us continue the important sustainability work that contributes to the long-term health of the craft industry and our communities.”

Mandi McKay, Sustainability Subcommittee Co-Chair

A big thank you to Kris Spaulding of Brewery Vivant for having served for two years as co-chair of the Technical Committee. Kris is now focusing on chairing the BA’s Human Resources Committee. Taking her place as co-chair of the Technical Committee is Mitch Steele, who was the long-standing co-chair of the Supply Chain Subcommittee. We’d like to give Mitch a warm welcome and thank Jeremy Moynier for stepping in as new co-chair of the Supply Chain Subcommittee.

Meet the Technical Subcommittee Members

At the 2024 Craft Brewers Conference® (CBC®) in Las Vegas, meet many of the new and current volunteers on Monday, April 22 from 4:00 p.m. to 5:30 p.m. Take the opportunity to learn more about what each subcommittee is working on, find out what it is like to be a volunteer, ask questions, and share ideas. Check out the CBC website for more information on registration, schedules, and educational seminars.