Submit Your Nomination for the 2018 Russell Schehrer Award for Innovation in Craft Brewing

Share Post

Each year the Brewers Association presents the Russell Schehrer Award for Innovation in Craft Brewing at the annual Craft Brewers Conference. Brewery members are invited to submit nominations for this award.

Past recipients can be found on the Press Room Awards page.


The Russell Schehrer Award for Innovation in Brewing was established in memory of the late Russell Schehrer, a founding partner, and the original brewmaster, of the Wynkoop Brewery in Denver, Colo. Russell was one of the pioneers in the craft brewing industry and as such, was one of the industry’s early innovators.


Nominees should have exhibited innovation and excellence in the field of craft brewing. Innovations may be in the areas of beer styles, brewing techniques, technical brewing or in the use of innovative methods to further the appreciation and promotion of the craft brewing industry. Nominees should also have shown a willingness to share their knowledge for the betterment of the brewing community as a whole. Prior winners of the Russell Schehrer Award are not eligible for nomination as it is considered to be a lifetime achievement award. Nominees should be individuals who were actively employed by a brewery at some point during the year preceding the nomination. Nominations are for individuals, not groups, partners or companies.

Submitting Nominations

The Brewers Association will accept nominations for the Russell Schehrer Award submitted by 5:00 p.m. MT on February 16, 2018. Nominations for this award may come from any brewery member of the Brewers Association. The award recipient will be chosen by a vote of all available past recipients of the award. In the event that fewer than 2/3 of the past recipients are available, the Brewers Association Board of Directors will also be asked to vote on the award recipient.

Please submit your nominations, along with a brief explanation of your nominee’s achievements using the form below.

Russell Schehrer Award for Innovation in Craft Brewing Nomination Form

Fill out my online form.

Was this article helpful?