Larry Horwitz to Co-Chair Technical Committee with John Mallett

Link to article Larry Horwitz Technical Chair1
Share Post

Brewers Association (BA) Board of Directors member Larry Horwitz has been named co-chair of the BA Technical Committee. John Mallett, longtime chair of the Technical Committee, is stepping down once he terms off the board at the end of 2019. Larry and John will work closely to ensure a seamless transition of leadership and to setup the Technical Committee for future success.

Larry has been a member of the Quality Subcommittee for years and took over as chair of the Safety Subcommittee at the beginning of 2018. His experience as a brewer and brewery owner, along with his dedication to the goals and mission of the BA, make him an ideal fit to serve as chair of the Technical Committee.

Larry Horwitz has worked in the brewing industry since 1992. He has worked in large breweries and engineered, built, and operated brewpubs and microbreweries throughout the country. Larry attended The Ohio State University and is a graduate of the American Brewers Guild Brewing Science and Engineering course and the MBAA Malting and Brewing Science Course. He is past president of MBAA district Midwest, and district Philadelphia, and a former MBAA Board of Governors representative. Larry also served as a board member for the Ohio Craft Brewers Association, and has worked with the New Jersey, Pennsylvania, and Delaware guilds.

“I am truly honored to co-chair the Technical Committee. It is humbling to follow in the footsteps of my esteemed colleagues who have chaired the committee before me,” said Horwitz. “Their work has been vital to the development of resources that so many brewers rely upon.”

“I will bring my passion for the technology and science of brewing, support our members by promoting access to raw materials and markets, encourage research and advances in safety, sustainability, education, technology and raw materials, and foster the commitment to quality in every aspect of craft brewing.” – Larry Horwitz

John Mallett added, “The primary forces that drove the development of the Technical Committee were the initial vision of Ken Grossman and the invaluable input from the many committee and subcommittee members who have contributed over the years. Larry Horwitz will be a great steward to guide the resources this group produces in the future. For me, contributing first as a member, then as co-chair, and for the past 6 years as chair of the committee, has been incredibly rewarding. It is amazing to see what is possible when our community collaborates.”

There have also been several recent leadership changes among the technical subcommittees. Bridget Gauntner, sales development specialist for Bells Brewery, is taking over for Matt Meadows as chair of the Draught Beer Quality Subcommittee. Bridget has been an active member of the subcommittee for five years and has experience in the lab and in the field.

Filling the shoes of Ken Grossman as Supply Chain Subcommittee chair is no small task, but the BA is excited to have Mitch Steele, brewmaster, COO and co-founder of New Realm Brewing, take on the challenge! Mitch has extensive experience in the industry and will help the subcommittee develop resources aimed at ensuring access to the highest quality raw materials.

Joining Katie Wallace as co-chair of the Sustainability Subcommittee is Walker Modic, environmental and social sustainability manager for Bell’s Brewery. Walker has contributed greatly to the subcommittee’s work and has a deep understanding of the environmental issues facing small brewers.

With Larry moving to co-chair of the Technical Committee, Chris Bogdanoff is taking over as chair of the Safety Subcommittee. Chris is the head brewer at Heroes Restaurant and Brewery and has been a member of the subcommittee since 2016. His experience implementing safety initiatives at a brewpub will ensure the subcommittee continues to produce relevant resources for all BA members.

Bridget, Mitch, Walker and Chris will all be joining the Technical Committee as part of their new roles. The BA is very pleased to have such outstanding members help shape the future of the committee and apply their experience and expertise to the development new resources for BA members!

Was this article helpful?